Old News—because some things are worth reporting─ Des Moines

Bushwacker was on vacation.

HIGHLIGHTS:
Robson Palermo took his first season win, his 10th career win─ with a gorgeous 92-point ride on RMEF Gunpowder & Lead. That pair is poetry in motion!
BEN JONES IS BACK!
“I just love to see this guy make rides and go boom-shaka-laka across the arena.”─ Shorty Gorham. Don’t we all! After his 86.75 on Overdraft, Jones had to do half his dance on the top rail, because the bull wanted an encore. Then Ben vaulted onto the Shark Cage to bust a move with Flint, getting the loudest crowd reaction of the weekend. For the Championship Round, he got stuck with Jack Daniel’s Tennessee Honey, and soon was flying chuteward in reverse. But hurray—he didn’t get bent out of shape about it. That cheerful attitude is much better for the head, Ben!

According to Hummer, “Valdiron de Oliveira has a take-no-prisoners attitude.” I beg to differ. Austin Meier and Ben Jones are the ones with the “take no prisoners” attitude. Proof: Austin came into the weekend with 6 buckoffs in a row. His Round 3 bull, Magic, was rocking out in the chute and hurt Austin’s hand. After a commercial he re-set, the bull again went berserk in the chute, and gave him a wild ride. Austin held onto the rope until the last nano-second, and made 8, for 86.50. Ben, watching, yelled, “No! He just knocked me out!”

INQUIRING MINDS WANT TO KNOW
How’s Chris Shivers doing??

SILVANO AND THE RERIDES
Great name for a band, huh?
In Round 1 yesterday, Alves scored 87.50 on re-ride Bad Moon. Today’s draft pick: Dr. Evil. He got a re-ride option– why? Supposedly the bull didn’t have his usual day, but did anyone bother to tell viewers what was happening? Or the score he settled for instead? Why can’t they keep viewers informed? They’re supposed to comment on the action, not their theories or what happened another time. I looked it up: 68.50, worst I’ve seen so far.

I’M JUST SAYIN’…

    • Even the Truth Booth was about JB’s riding hand, with Luke Snyder, Douglas Duncan, and Jordan Hupp commenting. Says The Bummer: “This is gonna be a fun debate…”
    • de Oliveira (Note: that’s de Oliveira, not Oliveira!) got his right foot broken in the chute— but didn’t make a peep or forfeit the ride; that’s why he got bucked off. (“Clickety click” was how Dr. Tandy Freeman described the noise his ankle made.) Yet Hummer’s comment was about how this’ll affect JB next weekend. Coming back from commercial, he mentions Valdiron’s broken right foot, “only a week after JB Mauney broke his riding hand…” It’s all about JB, isn’t it Craig? Have some dignity, man. Your crush is seriously embarrassing. JB’s gonna have to take out a restraining order on you.
    • Leah Garcia’s a real reporter: she went to the recovery room to check on Valdiron, and came back to report that he’ll ride in Connecticut─ and not once did she mention JB.
    • Jeff Robinson bought Cool Hand Luke from Canada. Any bets on when Hummer starts calling it “Canadiancoolhandluke”?
    • Stormy Wing picked Asteroid again; obviously he hasn’t gotten over being dumped. Good move by the camera op, zooming in on Wing’s face in the chute. After making that face hit his hump a few times, Asteroid threw a lightning-quick hind kick that flipped Wing up into a wild airborne backwards somersault. Bull score: 47.25!

EEK!

That picture of Cord McCoy’s hideously frightening skull injury in an old bronc riding wreck may explain why he’s always smiling no matter what happens on his bulls¾ but maybe not for the reason Hummer said. I’m thinking maybe the damage was a little permanent. I mean, two weeks in a coma, then a huge operation on a half-crushed skull, learning to speak again…

NITWITTICISMS

    • “Asteroid, any time he flies into the lineup, he’s looking to launch his next victim.” “Asteroid has designs on leading the charge.” This, directly from the bull when Hummer asked about his strategy for the event. “Space Chimp, a veteran bull that knows how to shoot for the stars.”—Whoa! Who mixed up Asteroid’s “sides” with Space Chimp’s copy?

DIAL 911

After an unsuccessful trip on Jack Daniel’s After Party (1 for 11 this season), Austin got stuck in his helmet again. They need to put ejector latches on those things.

CAN I QUOTE YOU ON THAT?
“All that free rosin in the locker room; I guess I should have used some last night.”—L.J. Jenkins re losing his rope last night on Cooper Tires Grey Ghost.

    • “Leah, I’ve been sore since Madison Square Garden.” ─Cord, telling it like it is.
    • Justin McBride re Shepherd Hills Trapper’s rankness: ”What I like about this bull is, #1, I don’t have to get on him; and #2, he always changes it up, he doesn’t have one set pattern.”
    • “Asteroid is a bull I’ve not been believing in before, but that was my own stupidity.” Can you believe Shorty said that? Said Craig, “I’m glad you called yourself stupid, so we don’t have to.” Amen!
About Bull Riding Marketing

Creative services, marketing and public relations professional from entertainment industry background. Published in magazines and newspapers worldwide. I believe bull riders are the new rock stars.
This entry was posted in Built Ford Tough Series, Bull Riding, cowboys, PBR and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Old News—because some things are worth reporting─ Des Moines

  1. close observer says:

    Speaking of Mr. Adriano Moraes, what has he been up to? Last I heard of him was that he had moved back to Brazil.

    Like

    • Once in a while on TV I see a flash of Adriano in the good seats. He’s scouting riders in Brazil, as far as I know, and probably involved in PBR Brazil events. But with the PBR, it’s “out of sight, out of mind.” For a long time they didn’t even make a peep about Chris Shivers’s injury!
      You’d think they’d want everyone to remember that the only 3-time world champ bullrider came out of the PBR, and keep his fans informed. Oh, what am I saying? Why pay attention to the man who did the most for the sport, or the people who buy tickets and merchandise? Naahh. All he did was singlehandedly open the door for some of the greatest riders the sport has seen– oh, wait I forgot, that makes him the bad guy. If it weren’t for Adriano, the Americans would hold most of the top 40 slots!

      Like

      • close observer says:

        You hit the nail right on the head…..he is MR. PBR! He is the one that made the sport to what it is now. He’s the best there ever is in bull riding. Maybe I’ll get to see him again at the World Finals.

        Like

  2. aaron says:

    When bullriding, can you hook your spurs in the bull rope before or/and after you get out of the chute?

    Like

    • aaronanderson@agcr.us says:

      I’ve heard that it’s against the rules to have your spurs in the rope while in the chutes. Correct me if I’m wrong. And explain why it would be against the rule.

      Like

      • It seems there’s nothing in writing about this on the PBR website, though supposedly they’re going to publish a rule book. The CBR and PRCA don’t mention spurs either. Even if the PBR makes a statement, that doesn’t mean the judges will apply the rules consistently.

        Like

    • S. says:

      There’s been a lot of PBR controversy on this (see Jody Newberry, Clayton Baethge). A rider can be disqualified if his spurs are hooked in the rope prior to the bull leaving the plane of the chute. If the spurs become hooked after then, it is accepted.

      At least, the last time the PBR said anything about it, that’s what they said.

      Like

      • Close Observer says:

        Yup….Newberry was called on that several times, even at the World Finals. Last nights event(pueblo, Colorado) Ty Murray talked about on of the riders from the 1st round….I think it was Cody Nance. Ty said he had his spurs hooked in the rope as the bull left the chute, he said “he got away with one”. I’ve noticed that Austin Mierers does it all the time, it’s very obvious that one the bull turns on direction, Austin gets shifted to far but unable to buck off since his spurs are in the rope. He does it everytime….why don’t the judges see that???

        Like

      • The judges see what they want to see. Certain riders are made of Teflon (e.g., Chris Shivers). Cody Nance also got away with “winning” in New York, thanks to the judges manipulating a couple of scores to downgrade Valdiron. (See my 2 posts about the Madison Square Garden event. I was an eyewitness on Sunday.)
        A couple of years ago, after a particularly obvious spate of criminal blindness on the part of the judges, a guy showed up in the audience wearing dark glasses, holding a tin cup and a sign saying, “PBR judge.”

        Like

      • closeobserver says:

        I’m there with you on the “Bull Riding Marketing”. I do believe the judges favor some riders over others. If the judges gave the riders the correct score, I believe Silvano would have a tremedous lead over everybody. How many times have they scored him below 80 and even 70 at times. They know he’s not gonna take the re-ride so they give him a low score. It’s another attempt to keep him from winning the World Title!
        Ok back to the spur issue…..is it just me or you also notice that Austin Meier always have his spurs lodged into the rope as he’s leaving the chutes? Its very obvious that when he’s bucked to one side, he hanging on with his spurs on the other side. Even my 7 year old son notices it….everytime he comes out of the chutes he say’s “cheater”!

        Like

      • Oh, yeah; I’ve commented quite a few times on what math whizzes the judges are, that they can calculate (usually pretty quickly, too) how low they can score Silvano to keep other (translation: American) riders ahead of him. I’d love to go back over the scoring for the entire season so far and see the patterns. It would make quite the interesting graph.

        Like

      • close observer says:

        oh yeah….I’ve been keeping track as well on the scoring from the judges. There is a pattern on how they give it; an american rides but a Brazilian makes a better ride but the “math whizzes” mangage to make their score lower. Another thing i hate is how the chute judges are always screaming at the Brazilian riders to get out while an american takes his time without any judges breathing down their neck!!
        Forgot to mention: Love reading your weekly reports. You tell it like it is….you don’t hold anything back. Keep up the good work.

        Like

      • Thanks for being a close observer! I actually had been trying to cut down on my swearing, but the PBR makes it very tough! I keep seeing the judges shave 0.25 points (sometimes more) off a Brazilian rider’s score to keep him behind an American rider, and all the little “dings” add up to cost them the win and nudge them downward in the standings. The judges also apply the re-ride and review rules selectively. And yep, whoever’s on duty at the chutes yells at Silvano, Valdiron, and Renato to hurry up and get out, but only once in my life have I ever heard a judge say anything to an American rider, and it sure was polite. Meanwhile, Cody Nance and Austin Meier can take a year in there. And they wonder why bull riding isn’t perceived as a legitimate sport by mainstream media! Can you imagine what hell would break loose if the referees at NFL games showed such blatant favoritism and prejudice? They’d get freight-trained by the linebackers.

        Like

      • close observer says:

        You should hear me at home while watching PBR…..I too can’t stop swearing as I see those points showing up on my screen. I applauded Renato for throwing his hat at the chute judge; he’s also getting frustrated with the judges. Every weekend I’m hollering for the Brazilian’s…. they are my favorite riders.
        I saw JB ride his first bull after he switched his hands, he scored somewhere close to 90 points. I mean his ride wasn’t worth that much, he was dangling all over the place….he wasn’t centered on the bull. But yet they gave him a high score. Is it just becuz he’s “JB”, that’s why his mark was hight! It makes me wonder the judges will ever make the right calls!

        Like

      • Were we separated at birth?? I used to think people who screamed at the TV while they watched football were idiots, and now I’m turning the air blue because Chris Shivers gets away with one, or Marchi gets an 89.50 instead of a 90, for a ride that would’ve gotten JB 92 points. I think I’ve even invented a few cusswords. Don’t know if you saw my post about the event you mentioned, but my statement was, “RENATO ROCKS!” I woulda given him extra points for chucking his hat!

        I remember when I started watching the PBR, I kept hearing the announcers raving about this JB Mauney, and I thought he must be the King of the Cowboys, World Champeen Rootin’ Tootin’ Best Bullrider Ever. Boy, was I surprised to find out Adriano Moraes was the #1 rider. I love seeing JB make those crazy hell-bent-for-leather rides, but a lot of them don’t deserve confetti! (I did shriek myself hoarse, though, when I was there watching him insist on staying on Code Blue.) If a Brazilian gets out of position for a second, he loses points. I have yet to see the judges let a Brazilian rider “get away with one.” Watching them flunk Robson on his great ride this past weekend was just brutal. Chris Shivers could’ve clubbed the bull and still gotten a 90+ score. (Don’t even get me started on the “finding” a few more 90-point rides in the vault thing!)

        Since the judges can’t be counted on to be objective, and riders don’t challenge bad calls or (god forbid) admit that they slapped the bull (how ironic that they run a commercial about “sportsmanship,” where a kid in a basketball game voluntariiy ‘fesses up to touching the ball), cheating will continue. Look how badly people treated Renato when he challenged that call on Ryan McConnel. Does no other rider have the guts to stand up for fairness in the sport?

        Yep, the judges desperately want an American to win the Finals, and some of them’ll keep using their dirty tricks. The fact that the Killer B’s are still leading shows how spectacular they are, against all odds.

        Like

      • close observer says:

        lol. Come to think of it, i think we were seperated at birth. All our thoughts seems to be on the same page. Yeah your right, JB’s ride would’ve been scored higher. It pisses me off when a Brazilian is thrown off to the side just an inch, they get points deducted. But when an american is thrown all over the bull and slapping it silly throughtout their 8seconds, they manage to get a score and of course higher than a Brazilian that’s in the lead. I agree on the comment you made on Palermo’s ride this past weekend, if it was Chris Shivers, he would’ve gotten a score…a automatic “90” plus! Everything is always going against the Brazilians riders but they still keep coming strong. I love the determination that they have.
        Just watch when the next PBR comes after the summer break, JB will be getting high scores just to get him back in the #1 position. I could honestly say that that’s how it was for Justin McBride. That’s another story…….
        GO BRAZILIAN’S!!!

        Like

      • Let’s hope Valdiron comes back roaring, and Robson heals up. THAT will be a real race. My fantasy would be to have Valdiron win the title, and then have ties for 2nd and 3rd place (I know, I’m insane), because I keep changing my mind about who should be in what order: Alves, Marchi, Mauney, Palermo. I also want to see Ryan Dirteater Ben Jones, and Marco Eguche in the top 10.

        You know, this is getting me inspired. I just might go back through my posts and summarize the “Ding the Brazilians” campaign: lowering their scores and inflating others, not seeing slaps, harassment in the chute, random application of re-ride rules… Sometime before August I should get that together. The PBR people who get pissed off at me and think I’m biased can’t argue with facts. (Well, except for the judges who just ignore the reality we all see on camera.)

        Like

      • close observer says:

        I’ll be looking forward to your post in August….I’m sure that will catch the “eyes” of the PBR judges.
        I too am not sure who I want to win the World Title. One hand I Silvano to win back to back, on the other hand want Valdiron or Palermo or Marchi to win. I guess either way, I want a Brazilian to win the title.

        Like

    • S. says:

      From my dim memory of the Clayton Baethge and Jody Newberry incidents, I believe the theory is that having your spurs hooked in the rope/knot during the ride can help a guy stay on (obviously this is a dangerous game that assumes the guy will be able to get unhooked when he wants/needs to); however, since it can happen inadvertently, they don’t penalize for it any time later in the ride, just if the guy leaves the chute with his spurs hooked in the rope (perhaps because the first leap out of the chute is often the most powerful?). I’m also guessing they are assuming the cowboy has more control over where his spurs are while he’s in the chute, and thus it shouldn’t happen.

      However, the PBR is really poor about codifying and explaining its rules, and it seems like they only notice this infraction sometimes, or at least, only punish for it sometimes. Jody Newberry was so upset with the multiple times he got called for it that he was designed new gear that was supposed to prevent it from happening, and Baethge tried riding with tape on his boots instead of spurs in some crazy attempt to show that he wasn’t “cheating.”

      Short of emailing the PBR and hoping they answer your question, I’m not sure how to find out more.

      Like

      • close observer says:

        Thank You for the info “S”. And I do hope PBR would answer my question on the “spur” issue.

        Like

      • You could try posting your question on their website, but since they don’t post any comments that make them uncomfortable, they probably won’t give a straight answer. Ty talked about this issue recently, and noted Cody Nance doing the hooking thing, but didn’t mention Austin– that’s too big a fish to fry.

        Like

      • close observer says:

        Sure, you can try and post it but as you said “they won’t give an straight answer. Ty only talked about Cody; he didn’t say anything about Austin. Its just my observation on Austin, he’s been doing that on his every ride.

        Like

Talk to me!

