BEN JONES INJURY UPDATE

News from the Rider Relief Fund:

“When my phone rang this morning and it flashed “Ben & Christy Jones” on the ID, I expected to hear Christy’s sweet voice. Imagine my surprise when Ben was on the other end! He was calling to thank the Rider Relief Fund and all of the fans who are reaching out with well wishes and prayers. He hopes to be home early next week, but he had another tough night with lung collapsing again. Even with a little struggle breathing and pain, Ben was full of his humor, appreciation, and a positive attitude. He told me to make sure everyone knows he’s going to be fine and he’ll be back riding very soon, but the most important message was to make sure everyone knows he really appreciates their support and prayers.

We will keep everyone updated on Ben’s recovery. If you’d like to send Ben a card, please feel free to send it our office and we will forward all cards and notes to Ben.

Rider Relief Fund
101 W. Riverwalk
Pueblo, CO 81003

If you have any questions, please contact our office, (719) 242-2900. The Rider Relief Fund is a non-profit organization, and donations are accepted online.” http://www.RiderRelief.org

NOTE FROM YOURS TRULY:
I’d like to send Ben a Get Well card on behalf of the thousands of people who have visited this blog, especially the BullSisters (you know who you are). How about it, folks? I’ll buy the card, and if I can post it on the blog, I will.

About Bull Riding Marketing

Creative services, marketing and public relations professional from entertainment industry background. Published in magazines and newspapers worldwide. I believe bull riders are the new rock stars.
This entry was posted in ABBI, Built Ford Tough Series, Bull Riding, cowboys, PBR and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to BEN JONES INJURY UPDATE

  1. Glloria Gramz says:

    They definitly need some type of health coverage. It is a dangerous sport.

    Like

  2. Trying to be a fan says:

    I have to add my 2 cents worth. IF the PBR offered the riders adequate health care coverage, you would not need the Riders Relief Fund. I have given to this fund. Why should I have to pay for the riders care when I pay a premium (over $100 for a seat) at a PBR event? They need to unionize! Health care should not be on the backs (asked to donate to the fund) of the fans. I am not insensitive to injuries, but the PBR is a really big corporation. They need to treat their employees (rides) with respect. By the way, what do the stock contractors make per bull each weekend? I have never seen this.

    Like

    • amie020871 says:

      I completely agree. These riders need to have health care. They work in an extremely dangerous profession because they truly love what they do, and we the fans truly love watching them do it. Make the offer PBR. They deserve it, and the fans will respect you for it.

      Like

    • amie020871 says:

      I completely agree. These riders work in a dangerous profession every day because they truly love what they do. And we the fans truly love watching them. They deserve healthcare. Make the offer, PBR. The fans would respect you greatly for it.

      Like

    • pazle says:

      Don’t say union to a cowboy! They don’t need someone telling them what to do.

      Like

      • Actually, that’s what’s happening to them because they don’t have a union. Right now, the riders have to do what the PBR says, even when it’s not good for them. If the riders had a union, they’d be able to negotiate their working conditions, probably get real health insurance, not be penalized for declining to sign autographs after an event, etc.
        A good union is the voice of its members, and negotiates with management on their behalf. I belonged to two unions that merged, and now they’re even stronger; so far they’ve followed the wishes of the members, and made life better for us in terms of contracts, day rates, protections, and other areas, plus lowered our dues. I previously belonged to a different union, which was full of ineffective, inept people, and when I had a case for being paid the rest of my contract which the management/employer broke, they were pathetic. I did all the legwork, all the research, wrote up everything, had to constantly call them, and it took a year for me to get compensation. Another union I joined offered health insurance at a lower cost than what was on the market, but they had the worst customer service in the world and did nothing right or on time; I dropped that insurance. Meanwhile they’re very slowly building up some credibility, but as of yet they don’t have much clout.
        So it all depends on who’s in the union, who they elect as officers, and whether the elected officials have their own private agenda that’s not in the best interests of all the members. In U.S. history, a lot of union members or workers who even tried to organize were beaten or killed– these were miners, railroad workers, and auto workers, among others. Unions helped make sweatshops and child labor illegal, and provided workers’ comp for people injured on the job.
        Before I was able to join my current union, I could be stuck working a 16-hour day, without food, outdoors in the heat or cold, and then not get paid at all, and there was nothing I could do about it. Now that I’m in the union, I always get paid, fed, have breaks, and if I work overtime, I get paid overtime. It’s nice to be treated like a human being.

        Like

    • mark says:

      nascare drivers tried that. didn’t go over to well for them

      Like

  3. Trying to be a fan says:

    I am in.

    Like

  4. saraht says:

    Great idea! Count me in!

    Like

Talk to me!

