Blog Stats: Year-end Wrap-up

It’s time for the year-end wrap-up on how this blog performed in 2013. Thanks to the wonderful bull riders and amazing bulls, neverending torrents of Hummerblather, smart, funny, and even prickly readers, tweeters, bloggers and BullSisters: 

  • This blog was viewed 17,000 times in 2013. If I could write in Portuguese, I’d double that number!
  • Viewers came from 79 countries, most from the U.S., with Australia and Canada not far behind.
  • The most-viewed posts of 2013 were “Boise/Nampa (Somebody Make Up Their Minds”) and “Mainstream Impact.” 

Oddly enough, even some of my old posts were popular with visitors:

  • Most active commenters were Becky Thompson, Sarah T., Anonymous, S., closeobserver,  Trying to be a fan, and BullT. Thank you, and keep talking!
  • While I’m at it, thanks to people who contacted me via Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, RocksBackPages, and other means, including Deezy, Susan Hanrahan, Stockyard Queen, Pearl DeVere, Jane Jubilee, Shaw Sullivan, Scott Schorr in New Zealand, Ms. Etta Britt (she of the spectacular voice), a certain bull who tells it like it is, and an ex-PBR person who needs anonymity (and I don’t mean you, Pollack). 

2014 PLANS: 

I want to mix things up more. I love the PBR riders and bulls, but the Built Ford Tough Series isn’t the only game in town:

  • Championship Bull Riding’s #1 rider Aaron Pass recently competed in the PBR’s Duluth, GA event. The CBR is garnering more visibility, having made a deal with FoxSports Network to broadcast shows on Sundays.
  • Changes are happening with the PRCA, and a new rodeo organization is forming; nothing’s clear yet on what part bull riding will play, but as far as I’m concerned, the more the merrier.
  • High school rodeo champs are riding their way into the big leagues, more female bull riders are working, more riders from Mexico are competing, people are noticing that there are (and always have been) female stock contractors—there’s never a shortage of bull riding stories.

So here’s where you come in:

  • If there’s a subject you want to hear about, tell me. (Bull riding only, please.)
  • If you’re bilingual (Portuguese or Spanish) and would like to participate in translating this blog, please contact me at: BullRidingMarketing@BullRidingMarketing.com
  • If you have a business and are thinking about marketing and publicity, please use the same address to contact me. I have a separate company that handles media work. 

And now, back to bull riding: 

A recent discussion about PBR riders winning events in their home states brought up a very interesting question:

Which riders have won events in their home towns/home states?

(For example, New Mexico rider LJ Jenkins won Albuquerque in 2008 and 2011; New Mexico rider Ryan McConnel took second place in Albuquerque in 2011. Sean Willingham, the only rider from Georgia, won in Duluth last week. Etc.)

Let me hear from you– your answers will be put in a post.

Thanks!

About Bull Riding Marketing

Creative services, marketing and public relations professional from entertainment industry background. Published in magazines and newspapers worldwide. I believe bull riders are the new rock stars.
This entry was posted in Built Ford Tough Series, Bull Riding, CBR, cowboys, PBR, PRCA, WNFR and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blog Stats: Year-end Wrap-up

  1. Just wanted to let you know that I LOVEEE reading your blog posts!
    I’m glad to hear that you have the guts to share your thoughts with us on the PBR scene.

    On an idea for your blog in 2014:
    I would love to see you write articles about bull riders from PRCA and CBR. There’s so many new bull hands out on the trail in 2014 that it would be fun to learn more about them!

    That’s all for now 🙂
    Have a wonderful week.

    Like

    • Thanks– sometimes it’s been scary having guts. Over the past couple of years I’ve got a nasty phone call from a PBR PR guy, an email or two from the former boss wanting to talk off the record (and chickening out), a bunch of threatening emails from a rider’s father (a rider I love, no less)–I’m just glad the guy lives on another continent; and some really psycho emails from a rabid guy who’s become known to bloggers and bull riding fans as a flame-war instigator. If he didn’t live in another state, I’d have to hire a bodyguard! Hearing from fans and people in the industry who see what’s going on in the PBR makes it worthwhile.

      And yes indeedy, I’ll be writing about riders from the other organizations. Watching their bull riding is a relief compared to all the PBR’s yelling and favoritism. Outdoor events always seem more in the original spirit of the sport. I wish more of their events were televised, so I’d have more to go on, but I’m a good detective, so I’ll come up with stories. When they head North/East, I’ll be there in person!

      Like

    • Yep– I said at the beginning of the year that I want to mix it up. I just wish we had more televised events from the PRCA and CBR; it’s hard to get to know the players without seeing them in action.

      Like

  2. S. says:

    Thanks for entertaining us with all the PBR’s antics, from the sublime to the infuriating!

    Speaking of the infuriating, trying to find anything on the PBR website sucks, but I’m pretty sure that Shane Proctor won in his adopted state of North Carolina in 2013.

    Like

Talk to me!

