INTERVIEW WITH SILVANO ALVES

I spent some time on the phone with Silvano Alves recently, with the aid of a translator.

I asked if Adriano Moraes had helped him:
“Originally I came to the U.S. on my own to ride on the Touring Pro level, and stayed here for two weeks, then went back to Brazil and stayed there for a few months, and that’s when Adriano gave me a call, and I made it onto the Brazilian World Cup team to compete in the spring. I stayed in Brazil for the break and came back after the break in 2010.”
He laughed when I said Adriano had told us he had a secret weapon named Silvano Alves. “Adriano probably just said that because he heard from all the guys down in Brazil how good I was riding. I didn’t use to ride with PBR Brazil before. I didn’t ride in Barretos.”

Does he remember what happened on his first ride in America?
“I covered. It was on the Touring Pro; I don’t remember where. I went to two Touring Pros here, and ended up second in one, and fourth in the other. I started riding in the Built Ford Tough Series in 2010. 2009 was Touring Pro.”

Does he have a preference for any particular kind of bull?
“Because there’s so many different kinds of bulls, I have no preference. There’s some good ones that go to the right that I like, and then there’s some good ones that go to the left that I like, but then there’s bad ones, too, that go to the right that I don’t like, and the same thing with the left. There’s some that are good that jump a lot and have a high kick that I like, but then there’s some I don’t. Each bull is different. I think Smooth Operator, Asteroid, War Time, Bruiser, and a couple more are the best bulls out there.”
“There’s definitely a difference between the bulls in Brazil and the bulls up here, in my opinion. The ones here are very strong and they’re quick; they’re athletic. They might be smaller than the ones from Brazil, but because they’re so agile, they’re harder, and I think they’re really smart. The ones in Brazil are also hard because they’re bigger, but they’re not as quick as the ones here.”

What did he think of that bracket format the PBR used for the Nashville event?
“I didn’t like the bracket format in Nashville. It’s a good format for a one-time event, to change it up, to make it different, but it depends a lot on the draw, because if you don’t have a good draw—you have to be lucky to get a good draw, and if you don’t have luck, it doesn’t turn out so good for you. I like the normal format the best: the long gos and the short gos.” He laughed when I said I thought maybe they used that bracket format because the bulls were too good and they were afraid nobody would ride.

I told him that we see how the judges treat him differently from the other riders and always put him on the clock.
“I know that it’s different for us, and it’s probably because we’re from a different country, because we’re not from here. There are a lot of times an American will be in there a lot longer than we are, and they don’t get put on the clock. I know this happens, and I know I’m treated differently, but all I can do is do my best, do the best that I can do and be better, to try to get ahead.”
I told him that Cody Nance can make a sandwich in the chute and not get put on the clock, but they disqualify Silvano before he even leaves the locker room. He laughs. “Yeah, that’s normal.”

I asked if there’s a chute clock in Brazil. There wasn’t before.
“Now they’re using a chute clock in Brazil, too. They do use the clock, but it’s different, because in Brazil the judges are watching and they understand when you can’t get out. They can see if you’re having a hard time setting up in the chute with the bull, like if a bull’s acting up inside, they can tell, and they work with you. If they can see that it’s because of the bull, they won’t put you on the clock; they’ll give you some time to work it out. If they see you’re taking too long and you’re just wasting time, then they’ll put you on the clock. But here, they don’t care what the bull’s doing, they don’t care what’s going on, they just want you out. Sometimes it might be because they want to hurt your chances; they just want you to get out.”
We discussed what happened to Valdiron in the chute in Nashville: they put him on the clock while his bull was rocking wildly in the chute, and Valdiron lost the rope, then they disqualified him. “The bull was jumping, and the rope came out of Valdiron’s hand, it wasn’t his fault, but they still put him on the clock. It hurt him; they just did it to hurt Valdiron.”

I asked if the Brazilian riders had meetings with the PBR to talk to them about this kind of thing.
“In the riders meeting with the PBR, we have tried, we do speak, and we’ve told them many times about it, and nothing changes. Everything is the same. Nothing changes, and it’s always the Brazilians that end up getting hurt by it. We do get treated differently, and it’s not just Brazilians, it’s Latinos too; with the Mexicans it’s the same thing. That’s why you have to make sure you do your job right, to get ahead.”
“Being that the PBR is such a big corporation now, it’s all business, it’s starting to fade out from the sport, from taking care of the guys– and the guys are the ones that make the sport. If it wasn’t for the riders, they wouldn’t be getting the audiences they’re getting or the tickets they’re selling; it’s because of the riders that tickets are being sold and the arenas are getting filled.”
“The PBR doesn’t want to see that there are a lot of issues, that a lot of people are mad about it, and that they see a problem in what is going on, and that people are starting to lose interest. The PBR thinks that they’re winning and that’s all that matters, but the only place where stuff like this is happening is in the PBR, for the Brazilians. They’re starting to lose sight of the athletes. I don’t understand why PBR does it that way, but yeah, I know what you’re saying.”
“There’s no point in getting mad, because then you’re just giving them a reason to hurt you more.”
I asked how he manages to keep his feelings from showing on his face.
(Laughs) “It’s better not to show anger, because then you’re just going to make it worse.”
I said, “Well, I can show anger; I’m allowed to.”
He said, laughing, “Yeah, you can.”

I asked if his son wanted to be a bull rider, would he let him:
“I’m going to support him in whatever he decides to do. If he wants to be a bull rider, I’ll support him, but I’m not going to push on him. Whatever he wants to do, as long as it comes from him and he enjoys it, then I’ll support it, whether it’s bull riding or roping or whatever. Whatever he wants to do.”

Did he see Renato when he went back to Brazil?
“Since Renato left the U.S. and went back to Brazil, when I was over there I didn’t see him; I just saw pictures.”

I said that a lot of us know that he really won four World Championships, not three.
“Me, too. The judges didn’t let me win it.”

I told him we see that the judges are very prejudiced in favor of someone who I won’t name.
He laughed. “Yeah.”

I said, The judges gave you a lot of 84s. He said, “Yeah, my scores will never go higher

Silvano Alves. Stanley/DeWalt studio shoot. Photo by Andy Watson

Silvano Alves. Stanley/DeWalt studio shoot. Photo by Andy Watson

Silvano Alves attempts to ride Chad Berger/Clay Struve/Jonathan Fine's Beaver Creek Beau during the championship round of the Kansas City Built Ford Tough series PBR. Photo by Andy Watson

Silvano Alves attempts to ride Chad Berger/Clay Struve/Jonathan Fine’s Beaver Creek Beau during the championship round of the Kansas City Built Ford Tough series PBR. Photo by Andy Watson

Silvano Alves and Son. OKC studio shoot. Built Ford Tough series PBR. Photo by Andy Watson

Silvano Alves and Son. OKC studio shoot. Built Ford Tough series PBR. Photo by Andy Watson

than 85.” Laughs again.

“Whatever you want to write—thank you for writing about the guys and about the organization. We’re thankful to you for writing about them and interviewing them. Thank you very much; I’m very happy.”

About Bull Riding Marketing

Creative services, marketing and public relations professional from entertainment industry background. Published in magazines and newspapers worldwide. I believe bull riders are the new rock stars.
This entry was posted in Built Ford Tough Series, Bull Riding, cowboys, PBR and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to INTERVIEW WITH SILVANO ALVES

  1. I don’t understand why the Brazilians stay on tour if they are so sure they are not going to be able to win.

    Like

  2. Adrian reza says:

    Thanks for the interview very interesting, im a huge fan of silvano and guilherme (i have a 3 year old i named guilherme) and all the Brazilians not just for what they are inside the arena but also outside. They are really nice people i hope pbr will change one day but i dont think so honestly. I wish other organizations like cbr for example grow more and give the riders more opportunities.

    Like

  3. S. says:

    Things must be really bad if Silvano and others are willing to speak out. The PBR seems to count on absolute loyalty and completely freaks out at anything less than positive news they can spin.

    Like

    • The PBR has mastered the art of deliberate denial. When I heard Sean Gleason in the “Fearless” Netflix series state that there is no bias in the PBR, and that they make sure of it regarding the judges, my jaw dropped. JB said it, too–and his comment that he wouldn’t want people to say they gave the World Championship to him really pissed me off. Somewhere in his little pea brain he must know that he’s been the favorite son all along, and that not every ride is worth a 90.

      Like

  4. Chad says:

    Blatant racism. Makes me sick.

    Like

    • You and millions of other people. Nothing we say or do seems to make any difference to the PBR. They feature the Brazilian riders in the “Fearless” Netflix series, and then discriminate against them in the arena. Sean Gleason even had the nerve to say the riders aren’t treated any differently.

      Like

  5. wanda lilly says:

    Love the interview!! I’m afraid that the PBR will make him pay that much more. Keep up the good work bullridingmarketing.

    Like

  6. Danielle says:

    Wowwwww. He really opened up and damn I am so proud of him for speaking out and not letting the PBR control him. I am going to leave a comment on the blog.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  7. licoricewhip says:

    Wow! This is quite an interview, Kris. I wonder where this will lead. Personally, I think the PBR has let it be known that if the Brazilians don’t like it, they can go right back to Brazil, where the money isn’t as good. So they tough it out.

    Like

    • Basically, the Brazilian riders keep their eyes on the prize. They are single-minded about their goal, so they don’t let the crap throw them off-balance. I’ve seen Alves say something on TV only once. (Renato, on the other hand, speaks his mind and doesn’t care who hates him.) They are all making whatever money they can so they can buy ranches and bring up their children with a good education, but almost all of them say they’ll go back to Brazil later. The PBR would be utterly cretinous to tell them to take a hike. That would tank the organization for sure.

      Like

Talk to me!

